Terrell, TX 75160
Things To Do in Terrell
Tour the No. 1 British Flying Training School Museum
Discover a little-known chapter of World War II history right here in Terrell. The No. 1 BFTS Museum commemorates the more than 2,200 Royal Air Force and U.S. Army Air Corps cadets who earned their wings over the skies in North Texas between 1941 and 1945. Terrell was home to the first, and largest, of six civilian training schools across the southern U.S. during the war. The museum collection includes hundreds of historical items: log books, training materials, WWII memorabilia, uniforms and much more.
Visit Ham Orchards
Peaches are the fruit that started it all at Ham Orchards. Visit them from mid-May to mid-August to purchase a wide variety of goodies, such as produce, jams, fresh-baked goods, and strawberry and peach ice cream. You can also enjoy peach BBQ from world-famous Eddie Deen.
See Historic Homes & Buildings
Unique architectural features, opulent interior design touches and stately, exquisite landscapes are just some of the common characteristics one will find in Terrell’s historic homes located within the city’s oldest established neighborhoods.
From its earliest days in the mid-1870s, Terrell was home to some of the wealthiest and more prominent citizens of the railroad, farming and banking industries in the Northeast Texas region. The legacies of many of these affluent residents and families can be seen in the dozens of beautifully preserved homes in the city.
The oldest home in Terrell still standing is the one-of-a-kind octagonal home of the city’s namesake Robert A. Terrell, built circa 1861-1862. Currently situated on the campus of Southwestern Christian College in Terrell, the home was built in its unusual shape to allow light and air to circulate more efficiently through the home. The home featured the first glass windows of any home in Kaufman County and is one of only two octagonal houses left in Texas – making it of great architectural interest.
Another of Terrell’s earliest homes still standing is the L.E. Griffith House, located at 805 First Street, constructed circa 1880. This fine example of early Texas architecture was owned by five generations of the same family and is recognized as both a Texas and national historic landmark.
Completed in 1904, this library building is located on land owned in the 1890s by local publisher O. B. Colquitt, who later became the governor of Texas. Through the efforts of the women's clubs of Terrell, the Andrew Carnegie Foundation provided funds for the building, and the city of Terrell contributed money for the library operations. It is now home to the Terrell Heritage Museum.
Another historic building is the St. John Catholic Church at 700 N Frances St. It is the oldest church building remaining in Terrell, built in 1876 and remodeled in 1949. It has many beautiful stained-glass windows.
The Texas & Pacific Railroad Freight Depot at 200 S. Virginia was built in 1873, the year Terrell was founded. The building retains most of its original features, including three bays on its primary facade, a broad hipped roof, and freight doors on the north, south, and east sides. Once an integral part of the region's economy, this depot was closed in 1977 and is now occupied by an engineering firm. It remains a significant element of the town's railroad past.
Learn about other historic buildings.
Shop in Historic Downtown Terrell
Enjoy Live Entertainment
Terrell, TX 75160